The new Commissioner


The European Commission is made up of 28 Commissioners; one from each EU member state. Following the resignation of the UK’s Commissioner, Jonathan Hill. Sir Julian King, who is currently the British Ambassador to France will become his successor. The infographic below explains, in brief, the relationship between national government, the Commission and the European Parliament.

It is important to view the role of the European Parliament in confirming the appointment of the Commission and the role of national governments in the selection of Commissioners.

London to Brussels – TM3

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s